Savory for Breakfast

Hello again, so I would have a lovely photo of my dish for you today, but before eating I thought my camera snapped the one and only shot. Apparently it did not and now I am sitting here full of tasty foods without a proper picture. However, I do have a description and a sort of recipe. Although this was not a planned morning meal it came out okay. Originally I had marinated some tofu and soaked some brown rice for dinner the other night, but it just happens that life turns around on me for dinner some nights.

So this morning I felt the need to fry my tofu and make the rice with some kombu and minced ginger, then decided my baby bok choy deserved a place in my bowl. The tofu marinade does not matter as it was too salty and you can create whatever you want with your tofu. The recipe inspiration I want to share is a copy-cat of the Trader Joe’s miso ginger broth which came out a bit more spicy and fairly flavorful. I did somewhat cheat as I had a box already and wanted to check the ingredients they used and also I used one of their mushroom pastes to impart most of the flavor and spiciness.

Grab your fresh ginger, green onion, the TJ’s mushroom paste or some mushroom stock, a hint of red chili pepper for a desired heat level, apple cider vinegar or the more preferred rice wine vinegar and finally miso paste. Add as much or little of all these ingredients as you like, more broth and less reducing will equal a less flavorful but more soupy recipe. My way was first heating the pan with a little ginger then adding the vinegar before adding water and the mushroom paste as I didn’t have stock. Green onion came in at some point and it reduced a fair, fair bit before I even started cooking my bok choy stems into the broth. The secret to well cooked vegetables that still retain their nutrients is making sure you don’t lose crunch. The stems need longer cooking than the leaves, which come into the broth at the last second.

Once I deemed my stems along the way enough, I added my overly-salty tofu to reheat it and had to add more liquid because it had reduced too much. After this I added my bok choy stems and simmered just a minute or less. Then I turned the heat off completely; but you ask wait…you didn’t add the miso to your miso ginger broth. This is because you do not want to boil your miso if you want to keep the nutrients and benefits of miso in your food as over heating destroys the nutrients. I stirred a spoonful into the broth and smushed and the like to get it incorporated.

Serving the broth in a bowl with my ginger brown rice and tofu was a nourishing, savory breakfast that will last me a good part of the day. Not to mention how easy vegetarian food can be made and made with yummy-ness. But again, learning process as I will from now on make sure my photos get taken properly before consuming the final product. Oh yeah, and drinking some jasmine green tea only heightens the experience and effect of the meal.

Tagged: , ,

Leave a Reply

